Final Slate Announcement

Final Slate Announcement

Bishop Transition Committee Announces the Final Slate for the XVI Bishop Diocesan of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut

Dear Faithful People of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut,

The Bishop Transition Committee announces that a Petition Nominee has been certified by the Secretary of the Diocese to have met the petition requirements and provided the required documents to the BTC, as well as clearing the required Oxford Documents’ background checks.

The Final Slate therefore includes the Committee Nominees for the XVI Bishop Diocesan of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut, which were announced on April 4, 2022:

  • The Rev. Glenna Huber, Rector, Church of the Epiphany, Washington, DC
  • The Rev. Jeffrey Mello, Rector, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Brookline, MA
  • The Very Rev. Kate Moorehead, Dean, St. John’s Episcopal Cathedral, Jacksonville, FL
  • The Rev. Canon Tanya Wallace, Rector, All Saints’ Episcopal Church, South Hadley, MA

and the Petition Nominee:

  • The Rev. Whitney Altopp, Rector, St. Stephens Episcopal Church, Ridgefield, CT

Information about each nominee, including a brief professional biography, photos, introductory video, curriculum vitae, essay answers and sermon links, is available at

In anticipation of the ECCT Election Convention on May 21, there will be Meet and Greet Gatherings May 9 through May 14. Meet and Greet Gatherings are scheduled at six parishes around Connecticut where all are encouraged to attend either in person or via livestream. Further information on the Meet and Greet Gatherings, including registering for the in-person gathering, livestreaming the event, and submitting questions for the nominees in advance may be found at

Although we recognize this is a joyful time for the Nominees, it may also bring stress and anxiety. It is a custom for Nominees not to engage in lobbying or campaigning at the individual, parish, or convention level and the Nominees have agreed not to do so. There should therefore be no special forums, events, or parties for any individual Nominee. The appropriate way to learn more about the Nominees is through the Meet and Greet sessions in May. Please keep our Nominees, the BTC, and all of ECCT in your prayers during this time of discernment. Our prayers for the Bishop Search and Transition may be found at

With gratitude and blessings,

The Bishop Transition Committee

Marsha Adell, Lay Co-Chair
Dr. Suzy Burke
Scott Colvin
The Rev. Harlon Dalton, Esq.
Laura Daly
The Rev. Dr. Luk de Volder

Kevin Fenner
Bob Giolitto
The Rev. Jack Gilpin
The Rev. Jane Hale
Karen Hatcher-Sneed
Zachary Kohl, Esq.

The Rev. Helena Martin
The Rev. Deacon Bonnie Matthews
The Rev. Marissa Rohrbach
Dr. Harold Schmitz
The Rev. Linda Spiers, Clergy Co-Chair
Sarah Woodford